Angus Ferraro

A tiny soapbox for a climate researcher.

First impressions of #EGU2013

Leave a comment

image

Arriving at the Vienna International Centre is a very exciting experience. I went to the conference centre yesterday to pick up a programme and to get my bearings, together with some other PhD students from Reading.

We wandered amongst the half-prepared stalls and peeked into the rooms in which our presentations would be held. It was exciting to imagine the place jam-packed with scientists and bursting with new research ideas.

After a late lunch in the Innerstadt we headed back to the hotel to relax before going back to the conference centre for the opening reception. People flooded into the conference centre to meet old friends and make new ones. I was in bed quite early though, given I was presenting at 9:30 the following morning!

image

I presented my work at the Open Climate session. The audience was bigger than I had expected, but I think it went OK. It’s very easy to think of all the things one should have said once the talk is done. It wasn’t a disaster though, which means it counts as a success. This was my first time presenting at such a big conference and I am sure future presentations will be much improved by the experience.

I got some good feedback and comments after the talk, which was much appreciated. Now I can fully.enjoy the delectable menu of scientific delights EGU 2013 has to offer.

It’s going to be a great week. The Sun has even come out!

Author: Angus Ferraro

Trainee secondary physics teacher and former climate research scientist.

Leave a Reply

